Meeting Dates 2017

All meetings to be held at Ley Hill Memorial Hall in the Rear Committee Room (unless specified otherwise)
Start time 7.15pm
Thu 12th January

Thu 2nd March

**DATE CHANGE**
Thur 27th April

Annual Parish Meeting, 19:30, Ley Hill Methodist Chapel

Tue 2nd May
Annual Council Meeting, 18:45

Wed 14th June
19.15 St George’s Church, Tylers Hill

Thu 27th July
Latimer Parish Hall, Latimer

Tue 12th September
Latimer Parish Hall, Latimer

Wed 25th October

Wed 29th November

Villages act to cut motorists’ speed

Eleven Buckinghamshire villages will be staging Speedwatch demonstrations during September to encourage residents to form groups to monitor motorists’ speed through their communities.

They follow a successful demonstration at Stewkley in July when residents saw speed measurement equipment in action. As a result nine people volunteered to form a Community Speedwatch group.

The demonstrations are all part of a £13,000 initiative by the Great Brickhill, Wing and Ivinghoe Local Area Forum (LAF) to help residents tackle speeding through villages – a top priority for these communities.

The LAF would like to form Community Speedwatch groups in each of the 11 villages, and to buy three vehicle activated speed warning signs, which can be moved around sites in villages to encourage drivers to stick to speed limits.

Buckinghamshire County Councillor Netta Glover, LAF chairman and a member of its Speed Awareness Subgroup, said: ‘Community Speedwatch enables residents who feel strongly about speeding traffic to take positive action, and as a local area forum we’re putting our weight behind this top priority. It’s all about educating drivers to change their behaviour.’

Speedwatch demonstrations will be held on:

  • Wednesday September 12: Wing (10am to noon); Pitstone (4pm to 6pm).
  • Tuesday September 18: Cheddington (4pm to 6pm).
  • Wednesday September 19: Drayton Parslow (10 to noon); Wingrave (4pm to 6pm).
  • Wednesday September 26: Ivinghoe (4pm to 6pm).
  • Wednesday October 3: Stoke Hammond (8am to 10am); Marsworth (4pm to 6pm).

 

Demonstration times at Slapton, Mentmore and Edlesborough have still to be confirmed.

If you’d like to attend any of these demonstrations, please let us know in the Media Team on 01296 382444.